Is DVC worth it for us Brits?

janeossie

Mouseketeer
I am very seriously looking at DVC and was wondering if you could offer some help.

I was going to look at it when I visit in December but the BCV do look good if not I might look at BWV on the resale mkt. Is it worthwhile for a Brit to do?

Can you let me know your experiences.

Many thanks

Jane

Hi Jane :)
Is DVC worth it for us Brits?
Let's just say "I sincerely hope so!"

I only joined last year, so I'm still learning every day about the ins and outs of DVC, but we've just added-on another 25 points so I guess that goes to prove we're either very happy with our initial purchase, or we've got more money than sense. It isn't the latter, so it must be that we're happy!

I do think British DVCers have a different approach to using their ownership that the US owners, which is why we have this board separate from the US DVC board. The Brits mostly use their points allocation for longer, less frequent trips than the Americans who may be able to fit in several shorter trips per year. However, with the flexibility of banking and borrowing points, this seems to work equally well for both scenarios.

As for the BCV - I don't think they're in danger of selling out yet (I hope I'm right there - they've only been on sale for a month!), but there are several posters here who have successfully bought through the resale market, so I'm sure you'd get something one way or the other.

If you have any specific questions about DVc ownership, ask away and we'll do our best to help :)

Hi Jane, each case needs to be judged on it's own merits, but a reasonable rule of thumb is , would you visit Disney once every two years. If the answer to that question is a yes, then IMHO DVC needs further investigation. Here are a few more questions you need to look at

Do you prefer to stay on site ?
Would you still take holidays to Disney without children ( when they are grown)