• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Marathon Ambitions

RugbyTigger

Earning My Ears
Hi All......just joined.

I am hoping to do the Dopey in 2019 with my daughter to celebrate her 21st and my 25th Wedding Anniversary. Complete novice runner [ old rugby prop - says everything] so any hints and tips will be greatly appreciated. Also anything that might help in the organisation side - registration, accomodation, trip planning, etc.
Looking forward to the journey.

You have plenty of time, so I recommend that you take a step approach. Use a couch to 5k program to prepare yourself for a 5k race, then race a few 5ks. Then step up to a 10k, then a half marathon, then a full marathon. Since you have 2.5 years to get there, take it slow and increase mileage very gradually.

Good luck, and enjoy the journey. The races last only a few hours, but the training can be life changing.

Hi All......just joined.

I am hoping to do the Dopey in 2019 with my daughter to celebrate her 21st and my 25th Wedding Anniversary. Complete novice runner [ old rugby prop - says everything] so any hints and tips will be greatly appreciated. Also anything that might help in the organisation side - registration, accomodation, trip planning, etc.
Looking forward to the journey.

Even in the realm of Dopey planning you are a pretty good distance away from your first somewhat mandatory deadline. Nothing is guaranteed, but I would imagine if everything sticks to form that Dopey 2019 registration will occur in April 2018. If this year is any indication (registration is still open after ~3 months), you may not need to register the first day of registration; but in the past registrations have sold out in days or hours so it's anyone's guess how registrations will be trending in a couple years.