My mom asked me an interesting question...

Magpie

DIS Veteran
My birthday was a little while ago, and my mom asked me, "How old are you?"

"Um... let me figure it out," I said, and started counting on my fingers, a bit puzzled because she's usually better at knowing my own age than I am.

My mum cut me off. "No, I mean, how old are you really? At what age did you feel most fully yourself? What age are you in your own mind, forever?"

I couldn't figure out how to answer that question! I've always just been whatever age I am, which is really hard to remember sometimes. I'm not very good with calendar math and I occasionally get confused counting up. (Yes, I tutor children in math! :laughing:)

I don't think I've ever felt like an age that I'm not. I've always just been me, here and now. (Though I do sometimes notice that my hair is grayer and my skin more wrinkled than it used to be.)

My mum, on the other hand, apparently still feels like a 25 year old. I'd make jokes about "immaturity" here, but what she really means is that when she was 25 she felt like she was completely herself.

So... are you like my mum? Is there an age at which you felt you were most fully you? Or are you like me, and you're always just whoever you are in whatever moment you're in? Or do you have some other answer to her question?

That's a good question. I have pretty much been "myself" since high school. I'd say that is when I really developed my sense of self. Of course things like marriage and kids have changed me, but more so I feel like it's added to what I already had.

I rarely feel my age. I usually feel much younger. Sometimes that's a blessing... I have no problem keeping up with my kids. Sometimes it's a curse... Like today when I totally butchered the cantaloupe I bought because I had never cut my own before :rotfl:

If that's a thing, I haven't reached it yet but I am happily easing into the "grumpy old man" role. Get off my lawn you damn kids!