Need help choosing the right lens

Super Momma

Earning My Ears
I need help choosing the right lens to buy. I just bought the Canon Digital Rebel and I want to get a better lens for it (but not break the bank). I really want to get some good pictures of the animals at Animal Kingdom. I am new to the whole SLR thing so please easy to understand terms would be greatly appreciates. :confused3 Thanks

For animal kingdom you will want a good telephoto lens. there are many choices for under $200. I have heard many good things about the Sigma Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO Macro Super II. It seems to be the best choice for under $200. I owned the Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM, which I paid $170 and I did not like it very much. Just make sure when you get a telephoto lens that you shoot with a fast enough shutter speed to eliminate camera shake.

I have the Sigma 70-300 for my Nikon and it's a great lens for the price.

Here's the one for your Canon.

http://www.sigma4less.com/sess/utn;...APO+DG+Macro+for+Canon+AF+=28SG70300F4ADCA=29

I purchased mine from www.sigma4less.com for $190 (+shipping). Service was quick and reliable.

Just some words of advice. Watch your available light. You may end up with blurry pics when zoomed out to 200-300mm. If you are in low light conditions, watch your shutter speed. If too low (less than 1/250 at 300mm) you may want to bump up your ISO speed to compensate.

I'm considering getting the Nikon 18-200 to replace my Sigma because it has image stabilization which I really miss (my 4 year old Olympus had it). Canon makes IS lenses but they are significantly more expensive than your budget.