Need help with clase de espanol......

luvpoohbear

Proud wife and mother of 2 wonderful little boys a
I am a non-traditional student, (just a nice way of saying "old'') and I am taking a Spanish class.

I need some advice on getting extra practice and learning tools. I have good pronunciation and can read it better than I can speak it.

I want to learn it so bad. I took 2 years in high school, and 2 continuing education classes, but I lost most of it.

I am very frustrated right now. I took the first part of this class over the summer and made an A, but I feel like I should know more than I do.

Can you recommend any software, books, cd's, etc. that might help me out?

I am especially having trouble with verbs. Not so much with conjugation, but with remembering what they mean.

Any advice or help would be most appreciated!

Muchas gracias!! Buenas noches!!

the best way to learn a language is to become immersed in it. Ideally you would spend time in a place where lots of people speak spanish such as miami and by need you would start speaking it. Since, that is not feasible my advice is to do the next best thing.

Practicing verb conjugations and memorizing vocabulary is all fine and obviously necessary, but the only way to truly retain something is to see it used in real speech. I'm sure you get spanish channels wherever you live. I would seriously start watching tv in spanish. A soap opera might be nice since unlike english ones they have a pretty easy plot to follow and they have a beginning and an end. Also, the actors are so over the top you will have little difficulty in following what is going on. It might be frustrating at first but with time you will pick up more and more things. Your ear will get trained and you will learn how people really speak as well as common slang and the like.