Need some advice on ECV, please (questions added 8/11)

angel's momma

DIS Veteran
I've had our 9/25-10/8 trip booked since Jan.
Yesterday, my parents decided to take advantage of the free dining and join us 10/3-7. It is their first visit to wdw. They both have some medical issues that make walking for longer distances difficult, but have never used ECVs before. They only plan to go to the parks 2 days, so they are planning to rent ECVs in the park, instead of renting from a company for 4 days. My main concern is they want to go to F&W Fest on 10/4, and I'm guessing it's going to be hard to rent 2 ECVs. Besides the added cost (2 days - 4 days), they are worried that it will be difficult to get on the bus with 2 ECVs, and still make ADRs in time.

Since I have no experience in this area, your advice would be greatly appreciated!

I would have them go to a large grocery or discount store where there are "loaner" ECVs they can practice on. Just be sure they are aware these, with the large baskets, are the most difficult to use.

If they are arriving on Monday Oct 3 and leaving on Friday Oct 7, that gives three full days plus arrival and departure days. What are they palnning to do when they are not in the parks.

In addition to this, where will you be staying? The access to the different parks is a function of where you are staying. Some of the resorts are very large and getting around in the resorts themselves can have some long distances involved. Generally we advise getting the ECVs from off-site companies as they are available all the time and are much easier to maneuver than the Disney ones.

Thank you :flower:

We are at POP. I've tried to explain to them how big wdw is, but I think they really expect it to be like Disneyland, which they went to many years ago. :)

They just told me that they'd like to see LaNouba, so I think they need to rent from an off-site company. I think your info about them being easier to maneuver will help me convince tham.