New to ECVs

skiwee1

DIS Veteran
I have been traveling to WDW with my mom twice a year for the last 3 years. She has painful knees and bad feet problems. Within the last year she has become noticeably slower. I mean s-l-o-w. Her ankles swell up and in the morning she has a hard time getting out of bed. I have talked her into getting an ECV for this upcoming trip. She has never used one but I think this will make a world of difference for her. Now to my questions. My mom cannot stand long at all so the ECV should be great. When we approach a ride, say PoTC, where does she go? She can walk to the boats with no problem but she can't wait in a line standing. Would she drive her ECV through the line? Or would she go somewhere else and sit while I stand in line for the ride and then meet up with us. I am so new to this. I do not want to get ahead of lines. I just don't want my mom to be miserable every day of the trip. My mom can wait all day as long as she is sitting. Whether it is on a bench or the ECV that isn't the problem. She would be able to transfer over to the rides too. It is the standing and waiting that gets her. Sitting and waiting isn't a problem. I think the best thing this will do for her is give her a seat at the parades. We won't use the special area but DD and I can sit on the curb, which my mom can't do, and she can sit on the ECV behind us. So do we just approach the line like normal and have the CM tell us what to do? Pleas enlighten me. TIA

One many rides she will be able to take the ECV with her. On some she will need to transfer to a manual wheelchair and have you push her through the line. Depends on the ride. Some you will go through the regular or fast pass line but on others you will go through the exit. Get a handbook for guests with disabilities which will give you all the information needed.

Also rent from offsite. There are no guarantees that an ECV will be available at the park or if you park hop at the second park.