New to Photography

avic77

Fish out of water
Hello everyone. I am an extreme amateur photographer. I bought an Olympus Epl-3 Micro 4/3rds camera several years ago and I have maybe taken 500 pictures on it. I just have the kit lens which is a
M.Zuiko 14-42mm f3.5-5.6 II R Lens but today on a whim I bought a 25mm F1.8 lens.
Due to a car accident 2 weeks ago my up coming trip will focus on photography as i am not allowed to ride the rides with the lovely little "Neck and back pain" warning.
Can yall give me any advice? Mostly its going to be a learning experience but I would like to get nice pictures out of it.

There is no one paragraph advice that is going to tell you very much. My advice is very simple -- read a couple of good photography books (Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson is highly recommended). Do lots of "practice" shooting. And if you get a chance, take a photography class.

+1 on the practice shooting. You should make sure to learn the features and options of your camera so you aren't experimenting once you get there. For inspiration, I might also suggest a travel photography guide since that is what you are really looking for, I think. Just make sure you allocate enough time to do your shooting. Rushing to take shots while trying to experience the parks will get you less than optimal results.

Yes i guess there is so much to learn that a forum really isn't the place to seek that knowledge. I'll check out the books yall mentioned

Go out and shoot. A lot. Learn to shoot in manual (read books) - you'll take a ton of crappy shots but will slowly get better at it. Shoot different things and experiment. Have fun with it.

There is no one paragraph advice that is going to tell you very much. My advice is very simple -- read a couple of good photography books (Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson is highly recommended). Do lots of "practice" shooting. And if you get a chance, take a photography class.