No longer able to call at 7 months and reallocate points

Mia Kylie and Co

Earning My Ears
I'm a newbie with DVC so I apologize for not being well versed on the in's and out's. We closed on 2 different home resorts this year. Our home resorts are Grand Floridian and Animal Kingdom Lodge. For our first trip (2018) we booked a couple nights at GFV at 11 months out. At that time I had told our sales rep that we were planning a big trip in 2019 for my parents and wanted to stay in a 2 bedroom at GFV. He suggested that at 7 months I call MS and have them reallocate my AKL points to the existing trip so that I could get the GFV points put back in my account. Giving me a larger amount of GFV points to work with for our big 2019 trip at 11 months. I did this at 7 months and this was easily taken care of. Literally just called and asked to use AKL points for my existing GFV trip. Points were added back to my GFV contract instantly.

However, today I had called MS regarding a separate trip and was surprised to hear that they will no longer allow reallocating points at 7 months. I was told that the only way to get points back would be to completely cancel my reservation and rebooking with non-home resort points. (Esentially losing my reservation.) Just curious if anyone else has heard this?

This is not new. If you use the home resort advantage to book a stay, then you cannoy reallocate the points at 7 months.
If you book a stay with VGF points at 7 month for another resort, then later you can reallocate the points and free the VGF points.
I think that if you book at 11 months at VGF and later you buy another VGF contract that has some banked points, you can reallocate the banked point into the existing reservation to free up the other points.

That is true. You never could reallocate points on a reservation made in the 11-7 month booking window. If you could that would also circumvent the home resort booking window.