Older Kids & "Extras" Budgeting

enchantedpixiedust

Old Timer
Hi all

Looking for some parental input since I'm a newbie parent person to teens. :scared::hyper:

Impromptu trip coming up so it's not a free-for-all spending wise. We'll pay for the meals but I don't want snacks to end up adding a few hundred bucks of expenses to the bottom line. For older kids what do you do?

Only thing I've thought of is a Disney gift card for x amount which would basically be x # of snacks per day that we're there. Eat it all at once, save it till the end, use it for something else, whatever. I was hoping this would keep things under control money wise vs it just being a random stop everywhere with us paying and them having zero clue what they're spending. Is a budget of 3 snacks a day enough you think or ?

What do you do for their spending money that's coming from you? Gift card as well? Cash?

I'll be honest, I have traveled solo for years on my own budget so I'm struggling a little. Open to any and all ideas, thanks for any help!

I think the gift card is a great idea. It's hard to say whether the 3 snacks a day is a good idea because I don't know what you are doing for meals. 3 seems like too much for us. Basically for our 14 and 21 year old we cover all meals and drinks and snacks are up to them. We give them a gift card or cash at the beginning of the trip that is the equivalent of $10 a day for snacks. Sometimes that might cover two things, other days just one with extra money rolling over to the next day. It's always been enough and they often have money left to put towards something else.
Now that the kids are older and have their own money we just give them the $10 per day upfront.. all other spending money is up to them. We provide the rest of the trip.

I would do a two-pronged approach.