Planning strategies for a WDW running race...so many questions!

KarenB

<font color=green>Goes to the mall and sniffs Yank
DH and I want to do one of the running races at Disney World, but we are trying to figure out how to plan for it. We are DVC members and would need to use points for our stay. I would do a half marathon and he would do a 5K.

Do you secure the race first, then try to get a resort reservation using your points? Or do you get a room reservation then hope you will be able to get a spot for a race? We have points at Saratoga Springs which we can do 11 months out and thinking it should be fairly easy to get a studio. Any suggestions as to the best 5K and half marathon we should try for? I am a teacher, but I can use personal days to go during the school year.

Thanks so much!
Karen

I would first try to figure out what race you wanted to run....

The Marathon Weekend is the oldest race at WDW and 'generally' the easiest to get into.

The Princess Weekend comes next in the year in late February

Both of these races are morning races where all events start at 5:30 or 6 (ish) for the 5k.

In the fall the Wine and Dine Half marathon happens in early November. It is a night race. The 5k occurs early the day of the half and the half starts approx 10pm.

There is a 10 mile event in October - the ToT 10 miler. It follows a similar schedule to the W&D.

For the two fall races, not every DVC resort is a host resort, so you may need to hail a cab or drive to the races if you are not staying in a host resort. The two winter races do not require alternative transportation as all resort are host resorts.

Note that the next race registration coming up will be the Princesses.

Once you decide on a race, plan on coming into town 1-2 days pre-race so you can attend the expo and pick up your race packet. It also gives you a day or two to acclimate to the central FLA weather.