preschool woes....

S

susy

Today I went to the school I will be working at this fall (teaching kindergarten). My son was supposed to attend the same school for pre-K....until I encountered his future teacher.

After about 2 hours of being in her presence, I decided to keep my son at the preschool that he has been attending all summer (his first time ever in school).

Okay, I am a strict teacher and I don't put up with any nonsense, but I couldn't believe that in 2 hours I did not hear even one happy sound come from that room!!! She had them sit down (all at once) at a table to do an art project. After about ten minutes of "shushing" them and yelling at them for not sitting still, they still did not have anything on the table in front of them! She just plain sounded like she hated her job and I knew that I could not work with my son in there (the room is next to mine).

When I left to pick up my son, I raced to his school and asked the assistant director if there was any room left for my DS for the fall. She said yes!!!!!!!!!! Yeah!!!!
She has only been after me for weeks and I kept telling her that he would be going to the school I would be working at.

I guess I will have to play music all the time to drown out her yelling and shushing.

Good for you, go with your instincts. My oldest DS went to nursery school at our church. I listened outside the door one day and did not like what I heard. He finished out the year but I decided middle dS would not go there. Luckily I found a wonderful school in town that had one spot left. He and youngest DS went there, I loved it. Never had a minute of worry. I told our church director why other DS would not be attending. She of course disagreed with me, that the teacher in question was wonderful. I just said, you will see, others will catch on eventually. In two years she was let go. Mainly because a family who donates lots of dough to church sent their son and they complained she was out of there!