renting wc for dad???park vs nonpark

Del

DIS Veteran
Hi everyone--

I've never written on this particular board before. We leave soon--check my countdown--- with dh, 2 dd, my dmom and ddad. We are bringing My parents on this trip now, since who knows how much better my father would be walking in 6 months. our orig. plan was to have Dad walk, takes breaks and sit when he wants or needs to and dh would be keeping him company. Dad had been very very resistant to us getting a wc. He had been in denial about how much he can do (still thinks he's forty at 75 yrs old--god bless).

As this trip gets closer, mom is now saying--how don't know how he is going to do it. We are staying at the Contemporary this time to make it easier for him. He can handle getting to the parks and probably waiting in short lines for shows (he won't do rides) and a bit of walking---more than that---i have concerns.

So my question is:

Anybody have advice on helping him keep his independence and pride but still get a wheelchair?

If we get down there and he realizes that he does want one? What is the procedure of renting one at the stroller rental places? First come first serve? Cost? We really don't need one to get to the hotel--just around the parks if he gets tired.

This is a whole new area to me and i would appreciate any feedback from my extended Dis family. Thank you.

Del:confused:

First of all, welcome to disABILITIES.

Often we have had people discuss relatives who don't want to be considered "crippled".

I have a few suggestions. (BTW, I am 63.)

One point to get across is that it is everyone's vacation. If he is miserable it will make the vacation difficult for everyone else in the group.

Second is to, if possible, use an ECV rather than a wheelchair. Yes, they do cost more. However, it will give him the freedom that he needs and he will not have to be pushed by anyone. Kind of harp on the freedom.