S/O of Christmas Dishes...When is it Time to Let Someone Else Host?

MIGrandma

Lives in the middle-of-the-mitten.
I have been hosting Christmas since I was 20 years old. I'm 60 now so that's 40 years of hosting family Christmas gatherings. DH doesn't get involved much, it mostly falls on me to do it all.

My Mom passed away this summer so Christmas is going to be a bit difficult this year, and we just became great-grandparents a couple of weeks ago so a new branch of our family tree has started. The older grands like to bring their current boyfriend/girlfriend, and our DS and DIL have taken in another teen (DIL's sister's child) so as always we will have a houseful and truthfully I'm thinking it might be time to let someone else take over.

We always have to move the furniture in our family room, because of the way it sits normally, to be able to accommodate everyone and the last couple of years have seemed like it's been more work than enjoyable. And of course there is the clean up after everyone leaves.

Our DS and DIL host Thanksgiving every year, so I'm not sure they would want to take over the Christmas gathering as well. DD has never hosted any holiday dinner. She says their house is too small, yet they have both sides of the family over for their children's birthday parties and somehow everyone fits so to me that is kind of just an excuse. She does work full-time though, so doesn't have a lot of time, like I do (retired) to prepare for a big holiday gathering.

I've also thought of renting the township hall and just having the family gather there. But then I'd be hauling the food, drinks, etc. so I don't know if that would be any better really.

We've also thought about taking everyone out for pizza (we don't have our gathering on Christmas Day, but a weekend or two before the actual holiday) and then just have everyone come here for dessert/gifts.