SB: New SB'er has some general ??

welovedis

Disneyland here we come!
Hello!

I am new to scrapbooking & was wondering how you all got started? Did you take a local class or workshop? Or just strike out on your own with some books?

I am trying to organize my things to create a few different books, mostly would like to put everything together from our first trip to WDW last Sept. I saved quite a bit with this in mind, but have no good idea where to start.

Any suggestions would help!

TIA!

I started out by taking a Creative Memories class. They do a good job of expaining the "do's and don't's" of scrapbooking. They'll give you a good start and you might meet some scrapbooking buddies. I love to scrap with others, since I am famous for getting scrapper's block. Seems at a crop there is always someone with a great idea for a page or a title when I am stuck.

That said, I don't stick to the CM products. Their albums are the best, in my opinion, but I buy a lot of my paper and adhesives, etc. at Michael's on sale. Once you know all about what is safe for your albums, shop around.

Welcome to the best hobby around. I've made more good friends through my albums. It can be a lot of fun and your family will love you for it!

I started at a CM workshop as well - it really inspired me to start getting all of those old pics in shoeboxes at least organized. Now if I could only get them in scrapbooks!

I'm not fortunate enough to have classes or workshops available to me, so I started by buying a couple of magazines, reading a lot of stuff on the net, and looking at layouts - then just getting stuck in.

www.gracefulbee.com has a good article on getting started, then it's just a matter of buying some supplies and getting stuck in.