Spectator's ChEAR package?

NOLA_Tink

Jambo, y'all!
Can anyone share info (or experience) regarding the ChEAR package? Is it necessary to add or does it make access easier for watching friends who are running? THANKS!

Thanks for replying! Without the package, and without a car, is it difficult to watch the race from MK & the end? I've never done it before, so I have no idea how to plan that part. Thanks, again!!

Thanks for replying! Without the package, and without a car, is it difficult to watch the race from MK & the end? I've never done it before, so I have no idea how to plan that part. Thanks, again!!
Not really. Your best option would be taking the monorail. Take race transportation to Epcot before the race starts and then hop in the monorail to MK to Epcot and then once your runner passes through MK hop back on the monorail back to Epcot for the finish.

Perfect! Thanks for helping me understand how to do this part! It's so nice to have clear expectations for a good plan!

One last quick question: I read that you can track runners with the ChEAR package. Can you track them otherwise?

One last quick question: I read that you can track runners with the ChEAR package. Can you track them otherwise?
You can track runners without the package. When we get much closer the races you can track runners using their bib numbers on your phone through text updates or the tracking site.

If the runner has a Garmin, the Live Track feature is awesome. You can set it up ahead of time and start it when the race starts. They have to carry their cell phones during the race as the Garmin device has to be connected via blue tooth for this to work, but those following along know EXACTLY where the runner is at all times during and after the race. I leave mine running until I meet up with my family after races as it shows them exactly where I am.