Started seeds indoors?

bobbiwoz

I'm happy to dance with you!
I've planted some tomato and green pepper seeds. I'm looking forward to being able to plant my onion sets outside, but the ground is just too wet right now.

How about you?

Bobbi:goodvibes

This is my first year that I've decided to try gardening. My mother told me that I should grow the seeds inside to begin with. I think I want to try tomatoes & peas. Any other suggestions? And how long do I grow them inside before I move them to the backyard garden?

I live in Maryland, btw....I'm sure the climate here needs to be taken into consideration. Thanks!

As a rough guide the plants need at least 4 "true" leaves (not the first 2 leaves) and be sturdy, and it must be past the last risk of frost. You can put them out a bit earlier if you cover them with something (the ends of soda bottles work well and keep the pest off:thumbsup2)

I tried planting them in cardboard tubes from kitchen paper etc. - as you're supposed to then plant them straight outside without disturbing the roots, container and all - but they did get a bit mushy and mouldy-looking:rolleyes:

ETA can you get seed tape? Its paper with the seeds already in it, you just unroll it in a trench and cover it. We can get spring onions, beetroot, carrot in them and they work quite well straight in the ground. Or grow in lengths of gutter and slide the whole lot into the trench when you're ready to plant out

Peas can be planted outside now. I've lived in NJ and that's what I did. They're a cool weather crop, and should be ready for you to eat and enjoy in June.

My tomatoes are beginning to germinate. The sweet peppers take longer.

Bobbi:goodvibes