"Stemming" or "Stimming"

Judy from Boise

Watch out – might take away your
I have always used the word Stimming, to refer to self-stimulation behaviors such as rocking, hand flapping etc. But i see many people using the word stemming....is it something new, or was i wrong, or is it just the "Southern" version :)

I am a therapist and have used this term with families, so I hope I have not been wrong, but I always thought it was "stimming" from self-stimulation.

I've heard both.
The more common way to refer to it in my neck of the woods is 'stimming' and I think 'stimming' is the more common.

I saw 'stemming' on here and just thought it was a typo... but as far as I know, stimming, like someone else said, is from 'stimulation'.

thanks, must have been a typo! But i could just imagine stemming..meaning to branch out with other behaviors or some such!

We're in Louisiana and we're "stimming" here...

And when its hard-core we refer to my little stimmers as

STIM-A-RIFIC! :rotfl:

-IncredibleMom

I have seen stemming, but it has been mostly in parent discussions or on individual people's website. I have never heard anyone pronounce it as "stemming". It was possibly a typo by someone and then copied by other people who read that site.

IncredibleMom said:
And when its hard-core we refer to my little stimmers as

STIM-A-RIFIC! :rotfl:

-IncredibleMom
That is so funny. When my daughter is "hard-core", we refer to her as Stimmy Stimmerson. Gotta laugh, you know?

SueM in MN said:
I have seen stemming, but it has been mostly in parent discussions or on individual people's website. I have never heard anyone pronounce it as "stemming". It was possibly a typo by someone and then copied by other people who read that site.

Its funny you say that because my husband is from Philly and it sounds like "stemming" when he says it even though he thinks he's saying "stimming". He also says "staring" for "stirring"...

The term is definitely "stimming" as in stimulation...