Stupid Eclispe Question

Cogswel_Cogs

DIS Veteran
Family is arguing with me.
Isn't below true.
It is just as bad, maybe worse to look at the sun when there is not a solar eclipse as when there is a solar eclipse.

My daughter claim you are not a scientist. Are you cause I would love to blow raspberries at her.

UV rays are UV rays during an eclipse or not. The situation is that during an eclipse, since the glare is not so INTENSE, people will look for a longer period of time thus creating more damage.

Yes, it is more dangerous to look at it when there isn't an eclipse. The difference is that most people don't stare at the sun on a normal day. Total solar eclipses are quite rare, so it gets big attention and people are likely to stare at it.

I'm not a scientist, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night... :rotfl:

I'm also guessing people might feel they can look at it longer when it's being eclipsed and it's darker out.

I kept joking with my daughter that I was going to look at it today, just to test it out. She implored me not to. :laughing: I do wish I had tracked down a pair of glasses though.

It's a "mostly to partly cloudy" day here though (99.9% zone). Won't it be awful if it's behind clouds?

People are combining two things...

1) The damage caused by looking at the sun during and eclipse versus the damage caused by looking at the sun on any other day
2) The probability that you will look at the sun and the length of time for which you will look.

For the first point, the eclipse does not make things works (arguably makes things a bit better - but only during the full eclipse phase). And, based on the wording of the OP's question, that is the point being addressed.

The second point is where the difference lies. People are more likely to look (because something different is happening) and they can look for longer (because the amount of pain caused by doing so is decreased). And, that is where the risk lies.