Taking Off in College

worldtraveler996

Earning My Ears
My parents have scheduled our next Disney trip for 2016 during the last week of October. It is for my brother's 16th birthday. The problem is I will be a sophomore in college and it is during a possible mid-term week. I have been contemplating whether it is possible for me to go and do exams the week before, if I have any (I only have one this year), or if I should not go. We haven't been there in three years so I really want to go because this may be my last chance for a while. It is also a four day week that week. I am having a hard time with this decision. Can anyone share their experience with vacationing during school or just weigh in?

Well, for me it would depend on the classes and the professor. I'm a freshman in college currently, but if I were in your position I would find out what are the days of the midterms (usually), and what would happen if I were to miss the test day. Many of my professors are willing to give a different test the following week and make no big deal out of it... and many times claim the next test will be "harder", but unless it's a subject that I struggle with or a subject that's really important it usually won't make a big deal.

To sum it up.. the only thing that would make me not go is if a professor told me I'd get a zero on the exam.

It really depends on the professor. I had many professors in college who would absolutely not allow you to take the test at any other time unless it was a documented family emergency. If you just wanted to go home early because it was cheaper or you wanted a longer spring break then it was on you. I had one jerk of a professor who scheduled an exam that was 25% of our grade on the last Friday before Spring Break. He informed us (as is correct but kind of a jerk move) the official school policy was spring break started that Saturday not Friday so he could do what he wanted and expected attendance by all.