Teachers what do you think I don't want to over step

tinkerbellandeeyor

DIS Veteran
I see a lot of group text apps and I was thinking the adults in the room can join one

I don't want tmi from them and I am already committed to four days a week but if one of the teachers is going to be out for the day I am not signed up for all they have to do is text out and that well be my cue to come in

I read the thread that texting is very unprofessional but it works for me on so many levels and for them as well

As as a teacher, I use the Remind App to communicate with students as not all of them will check their emails or Google classroom regularly (they should). Remind is a way to safely text anyone without releasing personal information on both sides. I sign up as a teacher and give my students a code to put into the app and anytime I have an important announcement or some type of reminder, I just send out a text through the app. I think this would work for your situation if you don't want to text directly with the teacher.

But really as a teacher, I text regularly with colleagues I work with in regards to school-related issues. It is just efficient and quicker that way. No one shares TMI stuff as we are all professionals.

When I taught my coworkers and I would text each other via standard text messaging available on all phones. The principal had a program where she could text the entire staff, but that was not personal, more informational such as a snow delay or closure. When communicating with parents myself and colleagues used the Remind app.

I would do it during breaks so the kids won't say to their parents the teacher does it why can't I?

I see a lot of group text apps and I was thinking the adults in the room can join one

I don't want tmi from them and I am already committed to four days a week but if one of the teachers is going to be out for the day I am not signed up for all they have to do is text out and that well be my cue to come in