Teens on their own at WDW

grinningghost

<font color=green>Has a thing for the Swiss Family
Hi everyone - I'm just starting to plan a possible trip in August. Our DD will be 14 by then and we're planning on bringing one of her friends with us. With all the craziness in the world these days, do you think it's still safe enough at WDW to let them go their own way most of the time? DD is already reeling with excitement that she's old enough to run the parks without mom and dad tagging along. We're a little nervous, should we be?

I went on a school sponsored trip to WDW with my cross country team. I was a freshman in high school and we went with the coach and his family. I think I saw him maybe once or twice a day...anyhow, times have changed of course, but I would probably let her at least roam the park you will be in for the day and maybe meet up for the trip back to hotel. It all depends on the child I guess, if your comfortable with her level of responsibility then go for it. How about those walkie talkie things to keep in touch in case of emergency?

Have fun!

You have more to consider than just safety. I feel WDW is a very safe place when you remember to use common sense. Yes, they are old enough to go to the attractions without you. What I'm talking about is, are these girls mature enough to handle meeting boys? And they will. Are they mature enough to get rid of boys who may be too old for them?

Our DD15, met a boy while waiting in line with our whole family. They exchanged e-mail addresses and corresponded for a year. The next summer our two families met at Epcot, conveniently arranged by the kids. It is now 2 years later and they still keep in touch even though they live a time zone apart.