Tell me about your car! Thinking of going from a lease to owning, and from SUV to small car.

emer95

DIS Veteran
I’d love to hear your thoughts.

I’m currently leasing a 2016 Kia Sportage, and it’s up in October. I need to make some decisions. I have leased 2 vehicles in my life (the last one was a Subaru Forrester). There are definitely some good things about leasing. My payments were so cheap.

I only drive 7 miles to work, and my kids are now grown. I don’t do a lot of driving other than work and errands which are close to home. I do not care about new or fancy at all. I just need reliable, and get me from point A to point B.

I’ve driven a small SUV or minivan for so long, it would be tough to get used to a small car, but it makes the most sense and I know I can do it. I live in Buffalo, so I definitely drive in snowy weather. However I’m a teacher, so when the weather is at it’s worst, I don’t have to go anywhere.

I know that leasing isn’t a smart financial decision, so I’m prepared to buy. I can probably only put down 5K. I like small payments and short loans, but doing some loan calculations has shown me that I won’t get the payments I want unless I put down more $$, or am willing to pay for 60 months (crazy!).

Any thoughts? Suggestions? Do you love your small car?

Before letting your lease go you should look at what the buy out is and compare that to anything else you are thinking of buying.

By the way, there's nothing wrong with leasing it just isn't for everyone...but you can definitely come out ahead (and you actually may have on that sportage)

if you like your kia buy out the lease. or look into what it will cost.

we just bought my wife a 2018 Sportage and she loves it, its not too big for her.