Texans in Alaska--Leaving Tomorrow!

MissDaisyofTexas

DIS Veteran
My family of 5 is so excited to be on the final countdown to our Alaska cruise in June!

I have really enjoyed pouring over excursion reviews and trip reports from others. Huge thanks to the people who wrote detailed trip reports from the Alaska 2016 season, including @anricat, @Geomom, @lunarsongbird, @franandaj, @Malia78 and more!

This is us:
gaylord ice.jpg

My kids will be 6, 9 and 13 when we sail.

We live in McKinney, Texas (suburb of Dallas). We booked two connecting 9C porthole rooms on Deck 2 as soon as the cruise dates were open to book. I've been dreaming of this cruise for 6 years!

In the interest of time, since I will also be blogging about the cruise and it takes a long time to upload photos here, I'll be posting most of my trip report from my blog. You can read all the details of our plans in Vancouver and in the ports here:

Texans in Alaska Pre-trip Report

I'd love your feedback and comments! :)

Can't wait to read along! I'm so glad I was able to help. :) I read so many trip reports before our cruise as well and they were super helpful (and got me unbelievably excited) so I was more than happy to pay it forward.

Just read your pre-trip report and have some thoughts...
  • Day 1: 11am wheels down means you will be at your hotel by 1pm. Early June has daylight until 9:30PM!!!
  • Day 2: Also check out the historic mini-Railway when in Stanley Park. Pay attention to aquarium show times to get best value for when to arrive at the aquarium. How do you plan to get to the aquarium.... some may choose to combine the park trip with Hop On tours to explore the park and downtown core.
  • Day 4: Like the aquarium... check online at the website to see when the Grouse shows operate to get best value
  • Day 5: Smart choices for whale watches out of Steveston (Storybrooke). You avoid the rough waters for the whale watches departing from Vancouver.