The DIS Needs More Non-Local Input

StraightToDumbo

Monorails kill dreams.
...and here's why. Everyone on these panels sees things from an "I do this for a living" perspective. They are in the parks all the time. They see the same shtick time and again. They get worn out and jaded on things. That's human nature.

HOWEVER, most people are looking for information and advice on a yearly, or perhaps one single lifetime trip to Disney World. Everything is fresh, new, and prime for enjoyment. I think the panel needs to draw perhaps DIS members who are on vacation in the area that week to provide a less jaded opinion on things. A lot of what is talked about on these podcasts is clearly based on a local perception which can be massively different from an out-of-towner view.

I haven't been to Disney since I was a kid, however DH and I are taking our 6yo in December so I've been listening quite a bit. I've been finding their information really helpful as someone who isn't a regular or even a recent guest. I've noticed that they will take care to preface a lot of information with "for those of you who aren't familiar with...", which is nice. I especially love the Best & Worst segments.

I do think it would be kind of fun to pull in a person or two in the parks do a quick segment where they ask what their favorite and least favorite thing about the day has been. They could prerecord a whole slew of them and then insert them into each episode. I remember someone mentioning that idea on one of the older episodes and I thought it was a really great idea to keep things fresh.