Took time off and lost all training

seashell7290

Mouseketeer
So I recently completed the 5k and glass slipper challenge during princess weekend and thought I deserved about 2 weeks off from training. Up to those races I have been running for about 6 months and have completed a few other races. Now that I am getting back into training for a 10 miler, I feel like I lost a great deal of stamina. I have not felt like this since I started running 6 months ago. Any tips on getting back to where I was? I had taken time off back in Jan after a half and was able to maintain my training for princess so I'm a little surprised I lost so much. Just a little frustrating. Thanks for any tips!

You haven't been out of it that long, so I would just schedule a week of pretty easy running (no tempo, intervals, etc), and I bet you start feeling good again.

Just keep going. From my experience it's unlikely that you've lost it ALL. It just feels like it right now.

I don't think that's long enough to lose "all" of your training. Just keep going, build back up slowly, and be patient...it'll come back.

(This is coming from someone that was just off for 2.5 months due to an injury...:upsidedow)

Last edited:

I was in same boat a few months ago after a goal race, I just kind of took a break for a few weeks unintentionally (only a few short runs thrown in here and there.) My stamina at easy paces wasn't too affected. But it did take me multiple runs to get my speed back up to where I wanted it. So I agree with the poster above that says do some easy runs, meaning easy pace for you. And if you are like me...you will soon get a moment where it clicks again and starts to feel closer to back to normal. Plowing past that 4 mile mark on a day when the first 3 felt pretty "meh" helped me feel better. Just keep at it.