Traveler's Checks - Help!

steph73

DIS Veteran
I wasn't sure what forum to post this in.......I'm a newbie when it comes to using Traveler's Checks. I've always carried cash on vacation, but we're going to get some traveler's checks this time and I need some information.

1. Can they be used at any store, including grocery stores and restauraunts in and out of The World? And, do they just give you change back?

2. What denominations would you suggest bringing? If I purchase them from my credit union, is there generally a charge for them?

3. Do they ever expire?

Sorry for what seems like probably really stupid questions, but I've never had any experience with using them but those commercials (American Express?) where the woman has her purse stolen on vacation with $700 scared the bejeebers out of DH and I! I definitly don't want to carry that much cash on us for this trip. I also have a debit card with a Visa logo and can use ATM's, but I prefer not to use ATM's because of the fees.

Thanks! Only 3 more days......:bounce:

Travellers cheques are just like money. They can be used anywhere, as long as you have a piece of ID (to verify your signature). They never expire, and as long as you get them at the bank you do your business at, you should have no charge. You should receive cash back (they are not like a GC) and I believe denominations come in $20, $50, and $100. Just ask the bank, I'm sure they will be happy to give you the denominations you want.

Hopefully that helps...

Joline:bounce: :bounce: :bounce: :bounce:

sOME PLACES DO CHARGE A FEE EVEN IF YOU ARE A MEMEBER. i BELIEVE WE WERE CHARGED .50 FOR EVER $100 WORTH WE PURCHASED FROM OUR cCU

Also if you are a member of AAA, some offices do not charge a fee for travellers checks.

By the way, no questions are stupid on this board.