Under the Mouse: Cast Members Mistreatment

Rufio

Disney Veteran/Lost Boy
Hello my old friends, it's been awhile. I've been hearing from inside the company how cast members are still not informed if they will return to work. They are actually not even allowed to reply to emails currently (if they are on furlough). I'm curious if anyone in the family of DisBoards, knows of more information or firsthand on more accounts such as these. I'm a videographer and I'm debating on producing a story on the reality - yet again - of being under the mouse.

Love The Lost Boy

Hello my old friends, it's been awhile. I've been hearing from inside the company how cast members are still not informed if they will return to work. They are actually not even allowed to reply to emails currently (if they are on furlough). I'm curious if anyone in the family of DisBoards, knows of more information or firsthand on more accounts such as these. I'm a videographer and I'm debating on producing a story on the reality - yet again - of being under the mouse.

Love The Lost Boy
Unfortunately that’s normally how furlough works. At my company we have to take a 2 week furlough before the end of the year, and while we’re on that, we will have our remote access to all systems and emails removed. We’re basically cut off from the company during that time.

As for Disney, I’m thinking a lot of employees are currently back, given that the parks are opening up.

Yes, there are many CMs still not called back yet.

edit: and yes, replying to emails would be considered working so that would be working off the clock essentially so, not allowed.

Love The Lost Boy

That's how it works. You're technically not an employee anymore. I was furloughed for a month and they cut me off from my email, said I wasn't allowed to volunteer to work, etc.

I do know someone who's husband who works for Disney hasn't heard anything yet.