Universal Annual Pass Query

chopsouey

Earning My Ears
Hello!

Having recently crunched the numbers, I’ve worked out that my other half and I could potentially save some money by buying Universal Annual Passes. I can’t find a specific answer to this on Universal’s website, so I’m hoping someone here might know.

Our trip isn’t until 6th October 2020, normally I’d just wait until nearer the time but as I’m from the UK our currency is slightly unsteady at the moment so the exchange rate could change drastically.

If I were to buy these passes today, would I still be able to pick up and activate it NEXT October? Or is there small print in the T&Cs preventing this that I’ve missed given its slightly over a year away.

Thanks in advance!

Hmm, my gut says no, although I'm not an expert. Think of it this way. Most companies raise their prices every year. With your method, why couldn't people just pay for 5 years now and just activate them as each year rolls around (saving themselves all the price increases)? It is really hard to guess currency fluctuations. We're in the same boat as Canadians. Never know how crappy our dollar will be compared to the US.

According to the fine print on the AP page at UO, it looks like your year for an annual pass begins the first time you USE your pass to enter a park - which sounds similar to the system Disney uses (where you are buying an AP certificate but it's not actually an active AP until you present ID and activate it at the parks). And to the PP yes that means someone could buy more than one AP certificate and just wait until the old one completely expires before activating the next one, and not have to pay the increased prices over time. You're basically forking over your money to Disney/UO ahead of time which allows them to make money off of your money without you actually using their services until a later date. Trust me that the company never loses in that scenario or they'd put an end to the practice.