Wait Listing for the first time

GaSleepingBeautyFan

DIS Veteran
It never even dawned on me that I may have a problem booking my home resort just after 11 months prior to our trip. It's the first week of December at the Poly.

I logged in today and only 2 out of the 6 nights that we want are available. Should I wait list the whole trip or book the 2 nights that are available and wait list the remainder?

As the title says - this is my first time doing a wait list so I'm clueless. Thanks for any and all help.

Is anyone having this happen as well?

Update 1/10/18: I have been able to get 3 of the 6 nights now. Here's hoping more people are walking so I can grab the last 3.
I have wait listed the remaining 3 days and cancelled the other wait list since I was able to get the 3rd date. This is definitely alot of work - I've been checking every time I get on the computer which is quite a few times a day. LOL

Last edited:
Several options. I would book what you can get, and wait list the others. Keep looking daily as well as dates have come available before the waitlist fills. If your waitlist hasn't filled by 7 months, I would try and book another resort, but keep the waitlist. Your other option, instead of 1 long waitlist, break it into 2 smaller lists. Often you may have better luck filling smaller waitlists.
Good luck!

11 months you should be ok if you waitlist the hole thing...

My last waitlist for spring break came through in November for a non-home resort in a specific category..so they do still come though than when I started when it was a near certainty. Too many fish in the sea now.

I say book the nights that are there and waitlist the others. Keep checking yourself too.

MS told me yesterday that the 1st 2 weeks of Dec are the busiest weeks of the year for DVC bookings. Don't know if that's accurate or not.

MS told me yesterday that the 1st 2 weeks of Dec are the busiest weeks of the year for DVC bookings. Don't know if that's accurate or not.