Walking with cane and being disable

Status
Not open for further replies.

Top Sgt

Earning My Ears
I just finished my trip at Disney and was denied handicap access about four times because I walk with a cane and not a wheelchair.
I’m a 25 years army veteran and has had my spine fusion from s1 to l2 and two other back surgery. I have no feeling from my waist to my foot on left side and have ptsd also. Standing in line kill me and big groups bothers me to . And I have a morphine pump to control cronic pain in my back and legs.

huh? 99% of the time you are mainstreamed.. everyone goes through the same line. if you cannot do stairs, you tell the CM when appropriate. otherwise, the standard accommodation is a wheelchair or ECV.

if you cannot stand for long periods of time then that's what you are expected to do.. that and use Fast Pass+ to minimize waiting on lines. as for crowded lines you have 2 options: request your traveling companions provide a buffer around you so you are not jostled, or.. use a mobility device such as a WC or ECV( built in buffer zone) . if you have other issues that mean you cannot wait in a standard line, you request a DAS( NOT a guarantee you will be given one). you will need to explain WHY you cannot wait in a standby line that is NOT mobility or fatigue related.

I just finished my trip at Disney and was denied handicap access about four times because I walk with a cane and not a wheelchair.
I’m a 25 years army veteran and has had my spine fusion from s1 to l2 and two other back surgery. I have no feeling from my waist to my foot on left side and have ptsd also. Standing in line kill me and big groups bothers me to . And I have a morphine pump to control cronic pain in my back and legs.
What did you want Disney to do there only about 3 or 4 rides in all of Disneyworld that has a separate line ( and most of those are for people in wheelchair or ECV anyways). It sounds like you need more help with mobility than just a cain