Waste tank in RV

Mary2e

DIS Veteran
When renting the RV, I saw mention of waste tank cleaning. I asked the owner exactly what we had to do - he said the best thing would be to look at YouTube videos for cleaning out the "black" tank. I had assumed that once connected at FW, waste wouldn't be an issue :)

Can someone point me toward a good video to describe and teach us what we may need to do? I'm not very good at searching YouTube.

Is cleaning out these tanks the reason why people use the comfort stations?

Not exactly sure what the rental company expects of you by 'cleaning' the black tank. :confused3 We always keep our black tank closed, and the grey tank hooked up to the facilities until a couple days before leaving, then close it.

On leaving, we open black tank, drain, then open grey tank and let it flow through hose. This helps to 'clean' the hose except for a good rinse.

Except for putting a few gallons of clean water in the black water tank after dumping, that is all the 'cleaning' we do unless we are not camping for awhile. Dh always handles that part so maybe someone else can point you to a youtube if you need more info. Good luck!

As for using comfort stations, versus their RV's, people use them for various reasons. We never have, preferring our own (one big reason for having our own 'home' at campgrounds). The hookups for the facilities there would not be anyone's reason that I can see for not using their RV bathrooms. They're easy to connect.

Last edited:
Some newer models, like our RV have a black tank flush hose station, I just loop our outdoor shower hose to it and flush the black tank out with hot water. On our older unit I would use powdered laundry detergent and generic Pine Sol along with Thetford, make sure you fill the black tank as full as possible, then dump. Before putting it away for the winter,
I then fill the bowl about 3 times along with the soap then dump again. See BLACK TANK hose connection below

Black-Water-Tank.jpg