WDW after hip replacement

crazykids

Mouseketeer
I will be at WDW with my 2 young daughters exactly 6 weeks after having a hip replacement. I am young & in very good health w/ exception to my recent surgery. Walking well unassisted 2 weeks after. My husband is urging me to rent an ECV, but I’m unsure if or how much I’d actually use it. Been to WDW several times & understand the amount of walking involved. Anyone have an experience going this soon after? What about going on rides?? I have zero knowledge of traveling with an ECV and afraid of how this will change our trip.

I will be at WDW with my 2 young daughters exactly 6 weeks after having a hip replacement. I am young & in very good health w/ exception to my recent surgery. Walking well unassisted 2 weeks after. My husband is urging me to rent an ECV, but I’m unsure if or how much I’d actually use it. Been to WDW several times & understand the amount of walking involved. Anyone have an experience going this soon after? What about going on rides?? I have zero knowledge of traveling with an ECV and afraid of how this will change our trip.

Rent the ECV. If/when you want to walk for a bit, park the ECV near the strollers and take the key, then go back to your ECV when you need it. Some of the older rides have a separate entrance for people with mobility issues, but most of the newer rides are mainstreamed -- the ECV and wheelchair people just go through the main line with everyone else. If the ride queue has stairs, the ECV and rider will need to use the elevator. Some of the rides will be easier to climb into/out of than other rides.