We hit a grand slam on the Magic in the Mediterranean - June 1-June 8 2019

bbagnall

Mouseketeer
Hi! I am Brandy and this is my husband Chris. We live in the San Antonio, Texas area and have been married for 18 years. I am a science teacher and he works for the San Marcos Airport handling private aircraft. It’s just the two of us, no human children, but we do have the fuzzy babies. I wanted to write this because there aren't a lot of these trip reports out there, but the few I did find were extremely helpful so I wanted to pay it forward. Please read on and I hope you enjoy!!!!! Feel free to ask any questions you wish and I'll try my best to answer them.

We decided to take this trip for my 40th birthday. I wanted to do something big so we decided on a cruise to Italy and knew we had to do Disney. This was also a big cruise for us, this would complete our Grand Slam of the Disney ships and when we finished we would be gold! After many days of planning, we decided we would fly in the Wednesday before the cruise with British Airways, spend a day in Barcelona, do private small-group tours (we did not do any Disney Port Adventures), and end with another day in Barcelona. The following items are things that we made sure we brought/or did to make our adventure a little more comfortable and secure.

• Money – The cruise ship operates on the US dollars, but everyone else used Euros. It was much cheaper to get money converted overseas. My super amazing mother in law gave us Euros in advance for birthday gifts so we used that and waited to get overseas before getting more. Our first hotel actually did an exchange for us pretty much at the exchange rate. I asked beforehand and the cruise ship does currency exchange and they will buy back your money at the same rate as long as you have your receipt. We only used our credit cards for the hotels, we used cash for souvenirs/meals/snacks.