What does it really cost?

KVH

DIS Veteran
First of all, apologies for the TL;DR. But bear with me, you may find this interesting, especially if you're pricing a cruise. Secondly,

YMMV

Can't stress this enough.

As background, I'm a Delivery Manager at a Big Four firm. Waiting for my next contract to begin next week and decided to play around with some readily available DCL data. I pulled this earlier today and then spent an hour making some charts. There's a LOT more here but I wanted to get this out so . . .

What I've done is pull the entry pricing from the DCL site by general room type. Got this idea from the DCL Blog post on fall '21. I expanded it back to October '20 (what is available publicly). I've always wondered just how the ships stack up to one another on pricing. I know a little more now. I still have absolutely no idea about pricing algorithms or their methodology. I know they have them but am still looking for patterns to help me understand why the numbers are the way they are. It definitely doesn't explain why a 5B on the fall '21 EBPC is now $9K+ at opening but I can see relative costs among sailings and ships.

But with what is available (all based on 2A only), we can do some compare and contrast and come up with some general conclusions. I will say if anyone has ideas or input on this, have at it and LMK. Technically, as an engineer, I'm infallible. But I'll concede I had to accommodate some really poor data quality (missing sailings, missing/incomplete categories, etc). So some of my assumptions may not jive at some point. But that's where the fun discussion starts. Note that, in some cases I'm removing the Concierge level rooms. The values there tend to skew the visuals but it's available if anyone really wants to know more.