What have you learned from previous sailings?

Jennifer777

Mouseketeer
I'm not a newbie but I don't think I'd classify myself as a "seasoned" cruiser quite yet either. We've taken 4 Disney cruises (5 and 6 will be completed by next spring) and each time we learn new things that we carry over to improve our next experience. Some of these include;

- Using the pool and aquaduck after 8:00 pm when the crowds are usually gone.
- Scheduling our Palo dinner on the last night, in part to avoid the "excellent" sales pitch as much as possible but also so the last thing I eat is the chocolate soufflé (yum!).
- Skipping the MDR on Pirate night since it's our least favorite menu and so we can enjoy the pirate buffet.
- Telling our servers on the first night that we like to get in and out quickly so we aren't stuck in the MDR for over an hour each night.
- Recognizing that there's limited real estate in my stomach and saving my appetite for the things I really enjoy rather than stuffing myself with bread and pizza before I even get to dinner.

I know a lot of this is subjective, but I still want to know. What have you learned from your previous cruises that has helped you improve your future experiences?
I'm interested in hearing about everything from pre-departure to post-cruise. TIA!

On our first cruise with our dd(6 yrs old at the time) I spent so much time making sure we went to every single character greet and meet. I feel like that is all we did on the cruise and I didn't get to enjoy anything else on the ship. She's now 10 years old and doesn't care about seeing any characters. We have so much more time to do other stuff. I was happy to see the characters on our first cruise with dd, but it is a lot more relaxing to be able to skip them now.