What makes DVC worth investing in?

LadyNia

Mouseketeer
My husband and I have recently begun looking into buying into DVC. We are having a baby soon and are looking forward to future WDW family trips. However, the yearly annual dues seem high and as though they may change unpredictably. To us, it seems more cost effective to pay for vacations as we take them rather than invest in DVC. My question is, does DVC save you any money in vacationing at WDW? Also, what are the advantages to buying into DVC?
To give some background information: I am a teacher which means we can only travel during peak vacation times. The amount of points we would buy would reflect peak season point values which would in turn reflect how much we pay in yearly maintenance fees. We would also prefer to vacation at WDW around every other year. We do love Disney, but we also like to vacation other places.

There's a lot of info on these boards, especially the sticky posts in this section ... Prices have gotten a lot higher in the last 2 years, and it seems like it's taking a lot longer to "break even" whether you compare it to rack rate, discounted hotel rooms, or renting points. And traveling during peak times can be tough - although one season you might look into is late summer, before school starts. It's hotter than Hades, but you can usually get decent room discounts and it's not so much as a rush to book rooms super far in advance (like 11 mo). Also keep in mind that "peak vacation times" in terms of higher point costs doesn't always line up with "hardest times to book a DVC room".