What type of photo editing software should I get?

eeyoreali

Mouseketeer
Hi!

I'd like to do some photo editing and would like opinions on what software would be the best to use.

I'm a basic photographer and don't really need anything too fancy. I'm looking for something that can un-blur photos, remove things from background, and other basic editing tools.

I do scrapbooking and would also use the software, if possible, to create things to cut on my machine.

I would need something compatible with a Mac.

What do you suggest??

That's a pretty tall order, actually, and does involve fancy software - removing things is usually done in Photoshop, and any sort of blur reduction is a tall order - usually people capture a sharp photo and want to introduce blur, I would only use PS for any attempt at that. Adobe offers a Lightroom/Photoshop package that would take care of your needs and is fairly inexpensive ($9.99/month). And they can print to any standard printer as well so you can cut them out after.

If you just want to adjust your exposure and fix those sort of issues, crop, and print, then using your camera manufacturer's software and shooting in their raw format is usually the best way to go - nobody gets raw conversion better than the manufacturers themselves.

I do quite a bit of photo editing and scrapbooking myself. Shooting in raw format I process photos in Lightroom but you can also use the software that comes with your camera to do that. Most of my editing is done in Lightroom and Photoshop Elements (PSE) which is very user friendly.

There are many photo editing software programs out there many of which are not cheap and have varying degrees of support/documentation. I find that the most common software editing programs (Lightroom, PSE) have great videos, help features and user forums on Facebook etc. where you can ask questions or view a video which explains how to do something.