What's a reasonable price to have a will drawn up?

fifthdimensiondweller

DIS Veteran
Now that DH and I have a son we'd like to have a will drawn up dictating that everything should go to him if we were to pass away. I assume we need to go to a lawyer for this, but before I pull the trigger I'd like to know, what's a reasonable price to pay for this service? What did you pay?

Additionally, we'd like DS (and our two cats) to go to my mom were something to happen to us, how do we arrange this? Is this part of the will process as well?

I'm sorry if these questions are a little dumb, I'm pretty new to all this!

I would go to a lawyer. I think I paid $75 but that was a while ago. And yes, he/she will take care to include the arrangements for you son and cats. You also need to determine who will take care of your estate when you are gone. A good attorney will know what questions to ask to guide you in the right direction

You can make an initial appointment with a lawyer; we saw a few and at each one, the consultation was free. They will go over your estate planning needs in a general way, and give you a list of prices for each thing (will, power of attorney, other things that you may want) and you go home and decide what you want to do. Then you can make an 'official' appointment for the things you actually want to do. Prices may vary significantly as each person has different needs in terms of estate planning.

Appointment of guardian of the person and property, trusts, etc., as well as consideration of future children and possible grandchildren , and trusts for pets, need to be covered. A good estate planning attorney will ask all the necessary questions to make sure all the bases are covered. This is not an area to go with the cheapest, but someone with experience.