when do points slip away

Keith Francis

Earning My Ears
Thanks for all the information on my other thread regarding DVC membership. I hope you don't mind but i have a few more questions.
What does it mean when a person is selling 150 points and has 174 points now, and 150 points available on a date in the future and if the time taken to purchase went over the future date what points would one loose or gain?
What is the best way to pay for the points and at what point will the exchange rate affect the purchase?
Also does anyone have the Web site for Shontell Crawford because I can only find two web sites for DVC resales.
regards Keith

Hi Keith,

I'll do my best, but i'm new to all this too (due to record our deed today)

When you buy DVC, you're given a 'use year', eg, our use year is February, so on the 1st Feb each year we get 165 point.
You can bank these points to the following year, OR borrow from the next year also.
I would assume that the example person you've used has a contract of 150 points a year, but has some extra points they've carried over from the last year, so they have the 174 available for this year only.

We bought BCV direct from Disney, but found credit card to be the best way to pay quite honestly - looking at interest rates on loans etc. We've gone with a card that gives us 0% APR for 6 months, then we're transferring to another for 4.7% for balance tranfers, wheras loans were around the 8% mark upwards. It was also immediate and there was no charge for wiring money.

Hope that was some help and good luck deciding, we spend many long hours discussing and tapping on calculators!

Once your resale was completed and you had control of the points you could bank some or all of the 150 for next year if you wanted to depending on the banking deadlines for your contracts use year. But the remaining 24 points would have to be used sometime soon as the current owner has already banked them and now they have to be used up or lost.