Where to Stay Off-Property for Dopey Challenge 2018

grahammcb

Earning My Ears
Hi all, I am new to Disney running but not new to Disney. I will be taking on the Dopey Challenge in 2018, but am already trying to pin down a few logistics to make my training stress-free...here's my main question. I will not be bringing kids down with me for the run, so I need a place to stay for just one person. I will be flying into Orlando, but am trying to decide if it's worth renting a car and finding a place to stay a little further away from Disney (trying to avoid parking fees, etc.) or staying close to Disney and using a third party transportation company to get me to the races. Because the races start so early in the morning, I'm a little scared to rely on transportation that is not Disney, mainly because I assume traffic will be bad. But, because I'm coming down by myself, I'm trying to keep money spent to a minimum and not stay "on property". I'm looking into staying at the Doubletree Inn by Disney Springs. I called and asked about transportation and was told that they coordinate with a third party to transport me to a Disney hotel, then the Disney hotel will provide transportation to marathon. Has anyone ever stayed "off property" during marathon weekend and used other transportation to get to the races? I just can't decide if it's a big deal or not...it would certainly save me a lot of money. Any opinions would be helpful to this dopey challenge newbie! Thanks!

I would be pretty nervous about this 3rd party will take you to a Disney resort and use Disney transportation once there plan. I guess it could work out fine, but seems like any issues with the 3rd party could end up with nervous mornings trying to get to the races.