Would you buy again?

jtwibih

Mouseketeer
I'm new to this part of the Disboards but I'm curious how many of you who bought DVC years ago would do it all over again with today's Disney. Do you feel like DVC is still a good value today as it was years ago? Obviously this question will field a number of different answers but I'm interested what you folks think. We are probably going to buy a resale contract soon. We have young kids and I think it's a good time to buy with all of the new things coming to the parks in the next 5 years.

If I were a younger person, I think I would still buy today, but under the same understanding that some of the DIS veterans gave me back in the day: "DVC is a pre-paid vacation plan and about all one is entitled to is a room (based on availability)". Anything else can - and probably will - change. I still think it's a good way to vacation with family at WDW, but WDW is changing rapidly and there may come a time when you don't want to vacation there anymore.

I would not buy today given current prices. Other than the initial buy in price point, I am not at all unhappy with Disney and would buy again. Buying DVC in 1999 was one of the best purchases we have ever made and I have no regrets.

Things change over time and I accept that DVD is an arm of a "for profit" business. When it becomes too expensive, or when we no longer want or are able to go, we will sell and move on. None of those things is a factor yet. :)

It seems to me that DVC/Disney can be compared to the airlines. I do not like all the un-bundling and nickel and dime fees those businesses now charge, but I still buy tickets.