• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Yay Me!

Forevryoung

DIS Veteran
I posted on the community board too but I thought people here could read the news as well.

Today I finished up my undergraduate education and I am a college graduate (took my last final this afternoon) :banana:

Despite my issues (bipolar disorder, generalized anxiety, OCD...), I finished in four years. I have a great GPA. I have tons of friends. I am happy with my life. I have done what my first psychiatrist told me I would never do- live on my own, graduate college, and have meaningful relationships (I was 15 and he is no longer my doctor!).

I thought I had problems with change and transitions (like missing a singular day of class :rotfl: ) until I realized that I have to leave the life I have had for the past four years and "move on" :rolleyes: :rolleyes1

I can and will do it- I've gotten this far! :cool1:

So #1 dont believe everything a doctor says about the future and #2 Children (or teens) with disabilities can grow to lead wonderful, fulfilling "normal" lives. My life is far from easy but the thing that makes my life easier is I know myself, I know my needs and I know my limitations.

Well, good for you.
CONGRATULATIONS
:cheer2: :Pinkbounc :yay: :bounce: pixiedust: :jumping3: :jumping2:

Thanks for sharing your good news with us.

Congrats - what a huge accomplishment. I wish you continued success - you sound like a VERY determined person!

:cheer2: :cheer2: :cheer2: :cheer2: :cheer2: :cheer2: :cheer2: :cheer2: :cheer2: :cheer2: :cheer2:

Congrats! :cheer2: What a accomplishment. And you did it in less time than me! (4.5year!) and I'm only ADD :rotfl:

You are wise beond your years. :goodvibes

:grouphug: