Yellowstone/Grand Tetons Advice - Updated with Photos - Post 63

Donald is #1

DIS Veteran
Hi everyone! I am thinking about taking my first trip to the Yellowstone/Grand Teton area this September and I am trying to figure out which week to go. I am currently debating between the first & second week of September. Obviously, my first thought was to start my vacation (7-8 days) over Labor Day weekend, but I am concerned about the crowds. Has anyone been there during Labor Day weekend? Is it really crowded?

Also, any recommendations on where to stay?

Labor Day weekend will be busy, but most people have their kids back in school and are not headed to Yellowstone. Mostly you will have RV'ers. Sept. is great weather in the west, it can be hot, cold, warm or chilly. Just depends on old Mother Nature. I love travelling in September, but can't now that I am a teacher.

I love Yellowstone! Are you camping or staying in hotels? Make sure you check on reservations just to make sure you can get a place.

Have a great trip! Ask more questions, I check these boards often.

I will be staying in a Hotel. I haven't really checked out any hotels yet. But I will probably be picking a hotel in the next couple of weeks.

My main plan will be to just enjoy the scenery & take lots of pictures. Do you have any recommendations on how many days? I won't be doing any real hiking, but I don't mind doing some short walks. I will be traveling solo and I get nervous hiking too far when I am by myself.

Check on hotel ressies soon. If you want to stay at one of the Park hotels, they book up a long time in advance. I would recommend Jackson Hole for your Teton Visit and maybe West Yellowstone for your Yellowstone visit if you can't get in the park. I think there are also some places south of Yellowstone that may be nice to stay. We always camp, so I can't help much.