Your Note to Teachers About Missing School...

Please know that the majority of the time, the rule doesn't come from the educators, but rather from the state. In our state, it's actually illegal to not allow kids to make up tests and quizzes. My students are always taking vacations, and I'm happy to give them the work ahead of time. They'll learn a lot of valuable things on those trips. When the kids get back, the class enjoys hearing where they've been and what they've learned. As a teacher, I appreciate being given advance notice. Last year, a student told me the day before that he was leaving for India, and could he please have the work he'd miss for the next four weeks?
Yikes! That's insanely poor planning and horrible presumption on that students family to expect that over night.
I am aware that some states have mandates about missed school. That is not the case in our state with the exception that there are to be no more than 10 unexcused absences in a semester. There is no homework policy at a grade school level in our district. Decisions concerning homework are made by the teacher. That is why I always suggest miss as little time as possible, give plenty of notice, and then be flexible as to what works best for the teacher.