A Diva and a Daredevil take on DLR (finished)

jwsqrdplus2

<font color=green>I suddenly got inspired<br><font
Cast of Characters:

Me (38), Disney Obsessed, and can’t wait to see Disneyland in its holiday décor
the Human ATM: DH (39) along for the ride, self professed portable ATM whose only job is to spit out money!
Diva: DD1 (turns 8 on this trip), she is reason we are going (she is dancing in a parade), gets to spend her birthday at DL and isn’t letting us forget it!
Daredeveil: DD2 (5), hasn’t met a thrill ride that she didn’t like and gets royally pissed when not tall enough. Easily distracted by ice cream though!

Pre-trip:

I am a veteran of WDW as are my girls. Being military, we have moved frequently, but have not lived this far west in over 10 years. We have lived closer to WDW, so that has become our family destination of choice. The last trip to DL we made was in 1995. We went for 1 day after our honeymoon cruise before heading back to Idaho (where we were stationed at the time). DCA was non-existent, I really didn’t know about the need to plan trips, and obviously, no kids! We are currently stationed a 7-hr drive from DL, so it is now our more realistic destination.

This trip started out in early summer as a surprise Christmas present for our girls. We were going to “give” it to them Christmas morning, get in the car and drive to DL. I had made hotel reservations (using points), was researching dining options, researching touring plans, getting the whole idea on track. The Human ATM was OK with the idea initially, but eventually got totally into the surprise aspect.