Alfredo's VS Carrabas, Macaroni Grill??

nasmith

DIS Veteran
I'm really trying to try restaurants on this trip that I've never tried before (I'm down to about 5 total in WDW!) - but it's especially difficult knowing that I have to give up a meal at an old favorite in order to do so!
I'm having a hard time dredging up any enthusiasm for L'Original Alfredos in Epcot. I know that it gets rave reviews - but what I want to know is if it is similar to a Carrabas or Macaroni Grill (Both of which I can visit on Non-Disney days) - or is it unique enough to warrant a visit. Thanks!! Jill

It really isn't like either one of those...though more like Macaroni Grill I'd guess. Many don't like Alfredo's because the sauces can be very heavy and rich. But the "show" is excellent and they have good wines.

My DH is Italian and I am a WASP who cooks better Italian than Alfredos. Bland bland bland. What show? We were made to feel like they were doing us a favor by waiting on us.

Our local Macaroni Grill has gone down, but still better food than Alfredos. Maybe we hit it on a bad night.

Alfredo's is one place we may never go back to. The food was only so-so. But, the real problem for us were things like the tables way too close together, a loud and hectic atmosphere, and bad service. They encourge the kids to swing their napkins over their heads.. well the bad part is that with the tables so close you get hit on the head by the kids at the next table!

There is much better Italian food at WDW. We like Palio's at the Swan alot. Tony's in the MK is a nice place also.

Our family likes Alfredo's and go each visit. I never thought to compare it to Macaroni Grill because we get different items at both and just never thought about it. The main difference we've noticed is the price. Definitely hit Alfredo's for lunch!!