"ATKINS IS DANGEROUS," quotes my Professor

UCD Lance

Earning My Ears
Hi,
I'm an undergrad at the University of California, at Davis. Last quarter, while taking a Genetics class, the topic of the Atkin's Diet came up.
My professor was outraged! He ranted on and on about how dangerous the Atkin's Diet is. He explained that the lack of carbohydrates in the diet leads to low glucose levels in your system. Normally, the body's cells will burn glucose for energy, but when there is an absence of glucose, the body will burn fat as well as muscle for energy. The professor explained that you will lose fat this way, but low levels of glucose will lead to the build-up of dangerous toxins in the body. He also stated that it basically puts your body into the state of a type II diabetic. Since type II diabetics cannot recognize the insulin their body produces, they are unable to burn glucose as energy, therefore burning fat and muscle as energy.
I'm not the expert here, but my professor's words make me cautious. I just wanted to post this message as an FYI to those questioning the safety of such a diet. In any event, I hope everyone has a wonderful day!
Lance
*Going to WDW for the first time on 7/4/03!!!!*

Thank you for posting what your professor said. I will look into it, because I like to learn...BUT, from experience...I am off my blood preassure meds for the firt time in years. I have lost 76 pounds, and I am no longer borderline diabetic. When I havemy physicals all my cholestarol and tryglyciride numbers are average. I can play with my kids and do things I have never done before.

I hope you are wrong...I will read and research this because I do not want to hurt myself, but so far the results can't be beat.

Welcome to WISH, Lance. What luck that you found the DIS and WISH all on the same day. I think it is very thoughtful of you to make your very first post on the WISH board. We certainly do appreciate your concern.