• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

battery life question

isyne4u

<font color=blue>Next time I get a craving for cak
I have a kodak easy share camera (DX something or other) anyway, when it is left open/on after a while it will shut itself down. To ready it again you just push the button. So my question is...does it use more of the battery to let it go off on its own or does it use more power with me turning it on and off so often and having the lens pop in and out? Does this make any sense to anyone?? (I'm not technical at all!!)

tara

It probably takes as much or more power to light up the lcd on the back of the camera as opening and closing the lense. So I would recommend turning it off to save on battery. Also I know some of the Kodaks give you the option of turning off the lcd, this will really save you battery power. Flash photos also use alot of power. Most camera batteries when fully charged are good for hundreds of photos though even with the flash. Your manual should give you some idea of this. So if you are worried about getting through a whole day at WDW, you should be fine as long as you charge it every night when you get back to your room. Assuming your battery is in good shape.

ndelaware...thanks. The camera is only 7 months old and the battery is the same age. I never thought about turning the lcd off. I do that when there is too much glare and I can't see it. I'll have to keep that in mind so that I will spare the battery. I am worried about WDW...I tend to take so many pictures (and then go back and delete the ones I don't want) that I worry I might kill the battery in short order! i"m definately taking my charger with me so I can charge it at night in the room.

thanks!!
tara