BEginner here: any tips on making a 6YO boy birthday Disney spectacular?

begoney

Earning My Ears
Hi:

My DH & I are taking out oldest, who will turn 6 while we're there, to WDW for a surprise! LEaving his 2 baby bros at home for some special big boy time.

Do any of you experts have any input on what special things Disney can/will do for the b-day boy? Anything I should request? I told the guy on the phone when I booked, so can I assume that it's in our notes and he'll get some attention no matter what I do?

I've hear about the cake service. Should I get him a button or hat to wear in the park that day? Any & all advice is GREATLY appreciated! I don't even know where to start!
Thanks!

Awww, it's so great that you're going to spend his birthday there.

Here are a few cool suggestions:
1) If there isn't a birthday pin waiting in your room for him or given to you at check in, go to guest services at the first park you go to and tell them. They'll give him a pin and write his name on it. Cast members are trained to look for the pins, so they'll wish him a happy birthday everywhere he goes. He can wear the pin during your whole trip, not just on his birthday. This is a must. He'll get so much attention he won't know what to make of it all.

2) The Pirates League located in the magic kingdom. This just opened this year, so I don't know if you've heard of it. It's a little expensive and you need reservations, but basically they can turn your son into the pirate of his dreams, costume, makeup and all. He can be a skeleton pirate, Captain Jack, or Captain Hook. They have a few different packages. Here's the link and the phone number to book it - you do need reservations
http://disneyworld.disney.go.com/tours-and-experiences/pirates-league/

3) Disney's Pirate Adventure
Disney's Pirate Adventure is a 2-hour sailing adventure for children between the ages of 4 and 12. The adventure takes place Monday through Saturday from 9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.